Where is the stern of a boat?

On The very rear or back portion of the vessel. On smaller boats the outboard motor is mounted on the stern and on larger boats like cabin cruisers there is usually a swim platform mounted low on the stern. But no matter how small or how large of a boat the very furthest rear portion is the stern!