Can cats recognize themselves in the mirror?

Based on the mirror test developed by psychologist Gordon Gallop Jr in 1960, cats do not recognize themselves in the mirror. However, further information shows animals that don't rely heavily on vision and don't pass the mirror test is not necessarily evidence that the animal is not self-aware.