What is einkorn flour?

Einkorn flour is made from the grain of a variety of wheat believed to be one of the first used by humans 12,000 years ago. It lacks the gluten proteins that trigger symptoms of gluten sensitivity. It is higher in protein and lower in carbohydrates than modern wheat.