Who shot j. r. ewing?

JR was shot by Kristin Shepard, JR's sister-in-law and mistress, in a fit of anger. JR did not press charges as Kristin claimed she was pregnant with his child as a result of their affair.

---

Ultimately, the person who pulled the trigger was revealed to be Kristin Shepard, played by Mary Crosby, in the "Who Done It?" episode which aired on November 21, 1980. Kristin was J.R.'s scheming sister-in-law and mistress, who shot him in a fit of anger.