Why is mustard called mustard?

Another version goes back to the Romans who mixed the sweet must of new wine and crushed seeds which they called “sinapis” an earlier word which meant “mustard seed.” They called the resulting paste “Mustum Ardens,” or “burning must.” This in turn became “mustard” and the name stuck.