What does i. stand for in math?

The letter i is a symbol for an imaginary number, which when multiplied by itself gives negative 1. This means that: i = the square root of negative 1. This makes imaginary numbers very useful when we need to find the square root of a real negative number. e.g. The square root of negative 16 = 4i.