How long is a hummingbird's tongue?

The length of a hummingbird's tongue can vary from a third of an inch to as long as about 4 inches. Hummingbirds also have the ability to stretch their tongues which allows them to almost double their normal length. Also, the tongue of female hummingbirds tends to be longer than that of the males.