How many strings can a guitar have?

A guitar can have anywhere from 4 to 18 strings, but the most common types of guitars have either 6 or 12 strings. Most acoustic and electric guitars have 6 strings, which are tuned to E-A-D-G-B-E from the lowest-pitched string to the highest-pitched string.