How fast is a lobster?

In general, lobsters are 25–50 cm (10–20 inches) long, and move by slowly walking on the sea floor. However, when they flee, they swim backward quickly by curling and uncurling their abdomens. A speed of 5 m/s (11 mph or 18 kph) has been recorded