What is a mung bean?

Mung bean is a type of legume. It is small and green when raw. It is popular in many Asian cuisines, notably in a popular Filipino dish called munggo where the mung bean is boiled with pork or shrimp and morenga leaves. You can use it in similar ways to lentils, but it takes longer to cook