What are the nine worlds?

Old Norse texts mention the existence of Níu Heimar, translated by scholars as “Nine Worlds.” These nine worlds encompass Niflheim, Muspelheim, Asgard, Midgard, Jotunheim, Vanaheim, Alfheim, Svartalfheim and Helheim, all held in the branches and roots of the world tree Yggdrasil.