What is the nog in eggnog?

Eggnog comes from noggin a type of wooden mug used in the middle ages. Noggin was also a word for a type of beer possibly derived from the other meaning as the beer may have been consumed from a noggin and become linguistically paired with the vessel. Given that eggnog would literally mean egg beer.