How do you get a pet in animal crossing?

Unfortunately, as it stands, there's no real way to get a pet in Animal Crossing: New Horizons. There aren't any cats or dogs, and to be honest, it would probably be kind of weird to have a pet dog or cat considering the fact that your friends on your island are all animals.