What is the definition of a desert?

A desert is defined as a region of land that is very dry which receives little precipitation, generally less than 250mm (10in) a year, often has little coverage by plants. Streams dry up unless supplied by water from outside the area. They cover abour 1/3 of the earth's land surface.