What is mayo globin?

Myoglobin is an iron- and oxygen-binding protein found in the cardiac and skeletal muscle tissue of vertebrates in general and in almost all mammals. Myoglobin is distantly related to hemoglobin. In humans, myoglobin is only found in the bloodstream after muscle injury.