How do you tell if a beta fish is a girl or a boy?

Male Betta fish generally have long dorsal (top), ventral (bottom), and caudal (tail) fins, often 2-3+ times their body height. Females typically have shorter fins about as long as the Betta is tall or shorter. Female bettas display vertical stripes on their body when ready to mate, males do not.