Why is ovaltine called ovaltine?

Ovaltine was developed in Bern, Switzerland, where it is known by its original name, Ovomaltine (from ovum, Latin for "egg", and malt, which were originally its main ingredients). The name was shortened to Ovaltine in English-speaking markets.