How do you know if a goldfish is a boy or a girl?

The differences between male and female goldfish will only become obvious once the fish reach maturity, which usually takes about a year. Female goldfish tend to have a rounder, thicker body shape than males. Also, male goldfish develop small white spots on their gill-shields.

---

You can either watch their gender reveal party videos on instagram, or you can check for anatomical differences. Males tend to be slightly smaller and have a more elongated body, with longer and thicker pectoral fins. Females tend to be bigger with a rotund body and less developed pectoral fins.