What happened to cliff burton?

Contrary to popular belief he did not fall off a cliff. On September 27th 1986 , while in Sweden, the Metallica tour bus skidded off the road and flipped. Burton was thrown violently through the window of the bus, which then fell on top of him, killing him instantly.