What is the origin of the expression mind your p.'s and q.'s?

1 favorite theory comes directly from English pubs and taverns from the 17th century. Bartenders would keep watch on the alcohol consumption of the patrons, keeping an eye on the pints and quarts that were consumed. As a reminder to the patrons the bartender would recommend they mind their Ps and Qs