What is the name kessler mean?

Kessler or Keßler is a surname of German and Jewish (Ashkenazi) origins. It is an occupational name that means coppersmith, or more precisely, a kettle (German Kessel) maker. In alpine countries the name derived from the definition: the one living in the basin of a valley.