What does it mean when a dogs nose is running?

As in humans, there are a variety of reasons why a dog's nose might run, including irritants, allergies and infections. Allergies to pollen, mold, etc. may also be to blame. In general, however, upper respiratory infections and over activity are among the most common reasons a dog's nose will run.