Where does shepherd's pie come from?

The term shepherd's pie did not appear until 1854 and was initially used synonymously with cottage pie, regardless of whether the meat was beef or mutton. However, in the UK since the 21st century, the term shepherd's pie is used more commonly when the meat is lamb.