Why does the pope wear red shoes?

Throughout Church history, the color red has been deliberately chosen to represent the blood of Catholic martyrs spilt through the centuries following in the footsteps of Christ. The red shoes also symbolize the submission of the Pope to the ultimate authority of Jesus Christ.