Where is yiddish spoken?

Yiddish is currently spoken mostly in Israel, Russia, the United States, and several European countries. There are over 150,000 speakers of Yiddish in the United States and Canada. Yiddish is more than 1,000 years old (Rourke, 2000), and it started primarily as an oral language.