What is pepper made of?

Black pepper is a flowering vine in the family Piperaceae, cultivated for its fruit, known as a peppercorn, which is usually dried and used as a spice and seasoning. Peppercorns and the ground pepper derived from them may be described simply as pepper, or more precisely as black pepper.