What is a three sided sword?

A three sided sword is called an épée. It is used in the sport of fencing and is considered the heaviest of the three swords used in this sport. As a thrusting weapon it is similar to a foil, although having a stiffer blade. It has a triangular cross section with a V-shaped groove called a fuller.