Can cats taste sweet things?

According to Scientific America, cats lack 247 base pairs of the amino acids that make up the DNA of the genes of the sweet receptor.

---

Some scientists have long suspected that cats, which are strict carnivores, are "sweet blind." Now there's proof: cats lack the receptor for sweetness.