Why are school buses yellow?

According to India Today, Since the lateral peripheral vision of yellow is 1.24 times greater than the red colour, it is more visible than the red itself. ... That's why the school bus is painted yellow to lessen the possibility of an accident for the bus filled with children on the highway.