What was the premise of the show hogan's heroes?

The premise centered around American Col. Robert Hogan, played by Bob Crane, and a band of prisoners of war, who had established a secret complex within and below the grounds of Stalag 13, a Nazi concentration camp. From there they engaged in sabotage and rescue operations against the Third Reich.