Why are dogs lips black?

Dogs lips are black because it protects them from the harmful effects of the sun’s radiation.

---

It turns out, the dark pigmentation of their lips protects them from the harmful effects of the sun's radiation. Dogs can also lose color and pigmentation in their lips. They turn pink when this happens. Dogs' lips are black because of the protection it offers from UV light.