What's a cylinoid?

Cylinoids is a device comprised of a coil of wire, housing a movable plunger (armature). When an electrical current is introduced, a magnetic field forms around the coil which draws the plunger in. Cylinoids are part of your cars ignition system using an electromagnet to turn the engine on & off.