When did portugal get knocked out of the world cup?

Portugal was knocked out of the 2022 World Cup in Qatar in the quarter finals, losing 0-1 to Morocco and finishing in 8th place. The team's best results came in 1966 in England (3rd) and in 2006 in Germany (4th). In eight World Cups staged from 1970-1998 they only qualified once (1986).