What's a.m. and what's p.m.?

The term a.m. came into use to designate morning hours and the term p.m. to designate evening hours. Both terms are abbreviations of Latin phrases, a.m. is short for ante meridiem or before midday, and p.m. is short for post meridiem or after midday.

---

It’s Latin for “ante meridiem” and “post meridiem”.