Why do women wear white on their wedding day?

While occasionally worn, it wasn't until 1840 when Queen Victoria wore a white silk-spun gown at her wedding to Prince Albert that the look took root. Queen Victoria wanted to show good sense and prudence on her wedding to show her people that she would run their country much in the same way.