Why do women wear white on their wedding day?

While occasionally worn, it wasn't until 1840 when Queen Victoria wore a white silk-spun gown at her wedding to Prince Albert that the look took root. Queen Victoria wanted to show good sense and prudence on her wedding to show her people that she would run their country much in the same way.

---

On February 10, 1840, Queen Victoria married Prince Albert of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha. wearing a white satin dress - red dresses were more common for brides at the time. Following the wedding, women's magazines popularized it in Europe and the United States.