Why do people cry tears?

Humans cry three different types of tears. Basal tears coat your eyes all day. Irritant tears flush your eyes of irritants. Emotional tears are triggered by strong emotions. Emotional tears contain more stress hormones and natural painkillers than other types of tears and can be therapeutic.