How do you know if a coconut is ripe?

If you want to eat the fresh coconut with a spoon wait until you can hear water sloshing around but the sound is somewhat deadened as a result of the developing layer of nut meat. You can also tap on the outside of the coconut with your finger. If the tapping sounds hollow, the coconut is fully ripe