Which aquatic animal will starve herself for her babies?

An octopus mom will starve herself for her babies. In one of the astounding examples of altruism in the animal kingdom, she lays eggs just once, and guards the clutch ferociously. She cares for the eggs for one month, never leaving, not even for food.