Why is horseradish called horseradish?

The name horseradish is believed to come from a variation of the German name for it, which is “meerrettich” meaning sea radish. The English were said to mispronounce the German word “meer” and began calling it “mareradish.” Eventually it was called horseradish.

---

That is the name of the plant which is a root vegetable.