Is s. e. l. a. word?

Yes, "sel," spelled S-E-L, is an actual English word, though mainly in the Scottish dialect, where it's a variant of the word "self" (S-E-L-F). More often, S-E-L an abbreviation for some form of the word "select," or initials for Social and Emotional Learning.