Why is an orange called an orange?

The earliest recorded use of orange the fruit in English is from the 1300s and came to us from the Old French orenge, adapted from the Arabic nāranj, from the Persian nārang, from the Sanskrit nāranga ("orange tree"). Use as a color name doesn't crop up for another 200 years, in the early 1500s.