Are pierogies ukrainian?

The word Pierogi comes from Poland meaning dumpling. Pierogi are associated with Central, Eastern, and Southeastern European cuisines, despite the fact that they most likely originated in China.

---

Versions of pierogi are seen all across eastern Europe though they are most associated with Poland