Can dogs taste food?

Dogs have fewer about 1,700 fewer taste buds than humans. Dogs Taste buds in different parts of the tongue respond to different microscopic molecules. Like us, dogs can identify sweet, sour, salty, and bitter. Unlike us, they also have special taste buds aimed at tasting only water.