Does salt make water boil faster?

While technically it does, for the purposes of cooking, no it does not make a pot of water boil any faster, in order to speed up your meal time. Therefore only add salt if you want or need it for flavor or other reasons. If you want your pot to boil faster, make sure to cover it with a lid.