Why do dogs scratch their bed before they lay down?

Dogs, like wolves, have scent glands in the bottoms of their paws as well as between their toes that secrete pheromones. Scratching the ground is away to spread their scent and mark their territory thereby communicating to other dogs or animals that this is their nest or place of rest.