What is bubble and squeak?

Bubble and squeak, a common British dish consisting of vegetables, especially potatoes and cabbage. ... The dish's name supposedly derives from the noises made when the ingredients are fried. Similar dishes, also based on fried vegetables, include colcannon (Ireland) and rumbledethumps (Scotland)