Why do cats sleep with their eyes open?

Sleeping with their eyes open allows cats to keep track of their environment and feel more at ease. During the deeper REM (rapid eye movement) sleep stage, most cats will not sleep with their eyes open (though it is still possible). A cat may also sleep with their eyes open because of