Can you regrow lettuce?

To regrow lettuce in water, save the end from a head of lettuce. That is, cut the leaves from the stem at about one inch or 2.5 cm. from the bottom. After a couple of days, roots will begin to grow at the bottom of the stump and leaves will begin to form.