What does the pituitary gland control?

Functions of the pituitary gland include producing and releasing of several hormones that help carry out important bodily tasks and functions. Such functions include growth, metabolism, reproduction, response to trauma and stress, lactation, water & sodium balance, as well as labour and childbirth