Is carnival road based on a book?

While critics see the influence of Neil Gaiman & Phillip Reeve works on the series, Carnival Row is a neo-noir fantasy television series created by René Echevarria & Travis Beacham, & is not based on a pre-existing book. The series has spawned spin-offs in the form of an audiobook and two comics.